Maricopa County Commission on Trial Court Appointments

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 1, 2022

Contact: Emma Morgan (602) 452-3130

Public Comment Sought on Superior Court Applicants

The public is invited to comment on 19 applicants for four vacancies on the Superior Court in Maricopa County created by the resignation of Judge James D. Smith and the retirement of Judges Margaret R. Mahoney, David O. Cunanan, and Sally S. Duncan.

The applicants are:

- Jillian B. Francis
- Marischa H. Gilla
- Gregory J. Gnepper
- Melody G. Harmon
- Charlene D. Jackson
- James R. Knapp
- Sunita A. Krishna
- Steven W. McCarthy
- Michael A. Minicozzi
- Rodney I. Mitchell

- Colleen E. O'Donnell-Smith
- Suzanne J. Reed
- Jeremy A. Rovinsky
- Jordan A. Smith
- Brian P. Utsey
- Timothy J. Watson
- William R. Wingard
- Kirsten J. Wright
- Melissa M. Zabor

Their applications can be viewed online at the Commission's website, <u>http://www.azcourts.gov/jnc</u>.

The Maricopa County Commission on Trial Court Appointments will review the applications and take public testimony at a meeting on July 27, 2022. The meeting details will be available on the public meeting notice. The public meeting notice and meeting agenda will be posted on the Commission's website at least seven days prior to the meeting.

Citizens may address the Commission on the day of the meeting or send written comments to <u>inc@courts.az.gov</u> or to 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ 85007. It is not necessary to submit multiple copies of written comments, and email is preferred. Comments must be received no later than July 22, 2022, to be considered. Anonymous comments cannot be considered.

At the July 27, 2022 meeting, the Commission will choose the applicants to be interviewed. The selected applicants will be interviewed on August 22, 2022. The logistics of this meeting will be available after the July 27th meeting. After the interviews, the Commission will recommend at least three nominees for each opening to Governor Doug Ducey, who will appoint the new judges.